Town of Peace River Library Board MEETING MINUTES

November 24, 2022 6:00PM

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84507290614

CALL TO ORDER: 6:02pm

1) LAND AND INDIGENOUS PEOPLES ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

2) WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

In attendance: Priscilla Lalonde, Marc Boychuk, Cathy Hewko, Dianne Lavoie, Jennifer Willox, Channing MacDonald. Regrets: Chelsey Friedt

3) APPROVAL OF AGENDA

2022.11.24.01 Motion to adopt (Willox/Lavoie) Carried

4) ADOPTION OF MINUTES

2022.11.24.02 Motion to adopt (Hewko/Willox) Carried

5) UNFINISHED BUSINESS

6) NEW BUSINESS

A. Letter to the Minister of Municipal Affairs

2022.11.24.03 Motion to send letter to Municipal Affairs (Lavoie/Lalonde)

Action: Letter to be drafted by J. Willox

B. Santa Claus Parade - Library will be participating, board members invited

7) REPORTS

- A. Director's Report Accepted as information
- B. Circulation Report Accepted as information

8) FINANCE & RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT

A. Budget

2022.22.24.04 Motion to accept financial update (Willox/Lavoie) Carried.

- B. Grants -Accepted as information
- C. Friends of the Library
 - a. Proposal to purchase maps accepted as information. Next meeting: January 11, 2023 @ 5pm via Zoom

9) ADVOCACY & PLANNING

A. Presentation to Council – Tabled to January

10) HUMAN RESOURCES & POLICY

A. Library Director Review

Action: M. Boychuk to draft Library Director Review for approval by the board.

11) BOARD DEVELOPMENT

A. Library Board Executive Election

The Peace River Municipal Library is located within Treaty 8 Territory and within Métis Nation of Alberta Region 6. We acknowledge that the Library is on the traditional homeland of the Dane-zaa (Beaver), Nehiyaw (Cree), Dene Tha', and Métis peoples. We commit to providing services that add value to the Indigenous peoples in our community and to ensure Indigenous peoples are welcomed in and represented at the Peace River Municipal Library.

Town of Peace River Library Board MEETING MINUTES

November 24, 2022 6:00PM

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84507290614

- a. Chair Marc Boychuk
- b. Vice Chair Dianne Lavoie
- c. Secretary Cathy Hewko
- d. Treasurer Priscilla Lalonde
- e. Directors Jennifer Willox, Chelsey Freidt

12) IN CAMERA - No in camera

Action: C. MacDonald to draft in camera privacy policy for attending meetings virtually

13) NEXT MEETING:

December 13, 2022h @ 6 pm

14) ADJOURN: Motion to adjourn at 6:54 pm